Illinois Child Passenger Protection Act
Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for children of every age from 4 to 14 years old. Additionally, there is a serious threat of accidents caused by driver distraction due to the movement or actions of unrestrained passengers under the age of 8 years. This law requires anyone who transports children in Illinois in non-commercial vehicles to do so in the following manner:
Children under the age of eight years must be secured in an appropriate child restraint system, more commonly called a child safety seat.
Children weighing more than 40 pounds may be transported in the back seat of a motor vehicle while wearing only a lap belt if the back seat is not equipped with a lap and shoulder belt system.
Children and young people eight and up to 18 years of age must be secured in a properly secured safety belt.
The parent or legal guardian of a child under the age of eight years is responsible for providing a child safety seat to anyone who transports his or her child.
Every person under the age of 18 years who transports a child eight years of age or older (up to 18 years) is responsible for securing that person in a properly adjusted and fastened safety belt or approved child safety seat.
For the purposes of The Child Passenger Protection Act, an "Approved Child Safety Seat" means any device which meets the standards of the United States Department of Transportation designed to restrain, seat or position children, which also includes a booster seat.
You can read the full State Statute by clicking the link below:
Click the link below for more information...